Don’t fall victim to these con artists. Follow this short guide to get the best CBD every time.
Between two and four ounces, the penalties rise to a $4000 fine and a year in jail. More than 4 ounces and your bank account might be $10,000 lighter, and you could spend the next two years behind bars.
Where to Buy CBD in Texas
The most convenient way to get high-quality CBD is to place an order online. Online retailers usually have better products at lower prices than those found in-store.
Despite all that, you shouldn’t have any trouble finding a local or online supplier for all your CBD needs in Texas, especially if you live in one of the major cities.
Therefore, Texas is not a great place to be if you enjoy using marijuana recreationally. However, there is a growing voice for the legalization of marijuana in Texas.
Patients with qualifying conditions may apply for a medical CBD card though the Texas Compassionate Use Program.
On June 10, 2019, Republican Gov. Greg Abbott signed House Bill 1325, which established broad regulations for hemp production, cultivation, and testing. The bill sought to create rules to match the federal definition of hemp-derived CBD products.
Applications to produce hemp are available on the Texas Department of Agriculture website, and potential applicants are encouraged to contact their TDA regional office.
CBD product labels contain important information for consumers, an important resource for CBD consumers.
CBD stands for cannabidiol, a non-intoxicating substance found in cannabis. Photo by: Gina Coleman/Weedmaps
One of the most important things to pay attention to is whether a CBD product is full-spectrum, broad-spectrum, or isolate.
Texas’ definition of consumable hemp products includes foods, drugs, devices or cosmetics that contain industrial hemp or hemp-derived cannabinoids, including CBD, with no more than 0.3% THC. The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) is creating a registration process for retailers to sell consumable hemp products with CBD.
Yes, CBD is legal, but not in all states.
However, in 2016 the Drug Enforcement Agency released an administrative ruling considering CBD Oil to be a Schedule One drug, comparable to heroin, peyote and LSD, operating on the theory that it is extracted from the same parts of the Cannabis sativa plant that contain THC, the active ingredient of marijuana. CBD consumers and manufacturers assert that CBD can also be extracted from the non-intoxicating parts of the Cannabis sativa plant that produce hemp, however, a recent 9th Circuit decision affirmed the DEA’s authority to classify CBD Oil as within their administrative purview. 2
At the state level, CBD Oil is considered legal in the states where marijuana is legal for recreational use (Alaska, California, Colorado, DC, Maine, Massachusetts, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont). Twenty-nine states have made marijuana legal for medical use in various quantities and CBD is also considered legal under those state laws, irrespective of the THC content of the source of the oil. In states that have not decriminalized marijuana, CBD Oil is also likely illegal.
Is CBD Oil Legal In Texas?
If you do not fall within the qualifications set by the Compassionate Use Act, then possession of CDB oil containing any amount of THC is against Texas law. The State definition of marijuana closely tracks the Federal definition. The Texas Health and Safety Code defines marijuana as “the plant Cannabis sativa . . . and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of that plant or its seeds.” The Code excludes “the mature stalks of the plant or fiber produced from the stalks [and] a compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the mature stalks, fiber, oil.” Texas does not currently have legislation allowing for the cultivation of hemp, though industrial hemp derived from the mature stalks of the Cannabis sativa plant may be sold and consumed.
Yes, if it is produced within federal guidelines.
If the CBD oil does not contain any THC, is it currently a Schedule V substance not in any penalty group. Possession of CBD with no THC can be charged as a Class B Misdemeanor with a punishment range of 0 – 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000.
NO, unless you fall within the qualifications set by the Compassionate Use Act.