Posted on

is cbd hemp oil legal in nj

It’s now legal to smoke recreational marijuana, but to be on the safe side, only do so inside your own residence or on a private property

The only allowed forms of CBD and medical marijuana products in New Jersey are oils, flowers, lozenges, and topicals.

However, for stronger effects, choose full-spectrum CBD oils. They offer more potent relief, with all compounds working together to boost each other’s therapeutic effects.

Is Smoking Marijuana Legal in New Jersey?

This guide discusses the legality of CBD in New Jersey and on a federal level. It also teaches you tips in choosing quality CBD oil and where you’ll find excellent CBD products.

As for marijuana-derived CBD, you’ll need to register with the state’s medical-marijuana program first. You’ll also need a medical marijuana prescription or recommendation from an authorized physician before you can buy CBD products with higher THC levels.

Buying CBD oil online though gives you extra perks. Online shops offer big discounts, free shipping, and even same-day delivery.

You’ll need a medical marijuana card though to buy marijuana-derived CBD products. You can apply for one when you join the state’s program.

There are no possession limits in New Jersey when it comes to hemp-derived CBD. For medical patients using marijuana-derived CBD, the possession limit for medical marijuana in New Jersey is 2 ounces, or 56.7 grams, of marijuana product in a 30-day period.

Hemp-derived CBD is legal in New Jersey in all forms, including cosmetics, personal products, and food. NJ A5322 allows the state’s health department to set rules around CBD. All hemp is required to undergo testing for THC levels, and any hemp that tests higher than .3% THC must be reported to the producer and the USDA, and may be required to be retested.

Combine THC and CBD to fully employ the entourage effect; THC and CBD work hand-in-hand to amplify each others’ effects.

Image lightbox

Yes. Hemp-derived CBD products are legal in New Jersey. In addition, CBD derived from marijuana plants is legal for qualifying patients authorized to participate in the state’s medical marijuana plan.

In August 2019, New Jersey lawmakers passed New Jersey Assembly Bill 5322, which set up licensing requirements for growing and processing industrial hemp. While many states moved to legalize hemp production after the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill at the end of the year, New Jersey was one of a few states that started doing so after the 2014 Farm Bill recognized the difference between industrial hemp, from which CBD is derived, and marijuana.

For those who are not registered in the medical marijuana program, there’s hemp-derived CBD, which was made legal in New Jersey in August 2019 with the New Jersey Hemp Farming Act, following the 2018 Farm Bill, which legalized industrial hemp at a federal level.

The state passed NJ A1330 in November 2018, adopting the same standard as the federal government, requiring industrial hemp to contain .3% or less THC by weight and setting up a pilot program that was eventually replaced by the subsequent passage of NJ A5322.

Beyond adding additional conditions to the approved list, New Jersey is slowly making marijuana more accessible to those in need.

Once certified, you need to register with the medical marijuana program to be protected under New Jersey law.

Under New Jersey medical marijuana laws, patients are allowed to purchase up to 2 ounces every 30 days. Currently, there is a 10% THC limit on marijuana in New Jersey.

Legalization in New Jersey

Shopping in-store is time-consuming. If you’re looking to buy in person, you’ll have to go from store to store to compare prices and products.

If you get busted with more than 50 grams, it becomes a felony and can land you in jail for up to 18 months with a $25,000 fine.

If you have a New Jersey medical marijuana card, see your dispensary or family doctor for personalized recommendations.

If you are suffering from one of the above conditions, you may be eligible for a medical marijuana card.